Les alternatives au test

De nombreuses personnes à risque de la maladie de Huntington (MH) décident de ne pas effectuer de test génétique prédictif. Tout comme il y a un large éventail de raisons pour que des personnes décident de poursuivre le test prédictif, il en existe un tout aussi large pour qu’elles ne choisissent pas de le réaliser. Cela comprend l’absence de traitement disponible, la préférence de ne pas connaître leur futur statut et la décision que le moment n’est pas opportun. La décision de réaliser ou non le test est très personnelle, elle ne doit être ni précipitée ni faite sous la contrainte. En outre, le test génétique peut être effectué à une date ultérieure et l’option de le réaliser restera ouverte.

Ressources pour la MH

Il y a beaucoup d’autres sites internet et ressources en ligne qui fournissent des informations concernant la MH en général, les groupes de soutien dans votre région, les mises à jour sur la recherche ainsi que les possibilités de participer à des essais cliniques.

Our Stories

We understand that learning that someone in your family has HD can be devastating. It can leave you with questions, concerns, and no idea where to turn next. Find more about what others have done in your situation – you are not alone.

Famille et Amis

Apprendre que votre proche est atteint de la MH ou qu’elle peut se développer dans le futur est très difficile. Vous pouvez vous sentir inquiet, choqué et anxieux mais en même temps vouloir aider et soutenir votre proche.
En apprendre d’avantage sur les conditions et processus du test peut vous aider à mieux comprendre et à vous préparer à ce que signifie MH pour vous deux à présent et dans l’avenir.

Alternatives to Testing

Many individuals who are at risk for Huntington disease (HD) decide not to undergo predictive genetic testing. Just as there is a wide variety of reasons people decide to pursue predictive testing, there is also a wide variety of reasons people choose not to undergo testing including the lack of an available cure, preferring not to find out their future status and deciding that it is not the right time. The decision whether or not to pursue testing is very personal, and one that should not be rushed or made under pressure. In addition, genetic testing can be performed at a later date, and the option to undergo testing will remain open.

HD Resources

There are many other online websites and resources which provide information regarding HD in general, support groups in your area, research updates and opportunities to be involved in clinical trials.

Our Stories

We understand that learning that someone in your family has HD can be devastating. It can leave you with questions, concerns, and no idea where to turn next. Find about more about what others have done in your situation – you are not alone.

Family and Friends

Finding out that your loved one has HD, or may develop it in the future is incredibly hard. You may feel concern, shock and anxiety but at the same time want to help and support your loved one.
Learning more about the condition and the testing process can help you understand and prepare for what HD means for both of you now and in the future.